Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Leonore's Introduction

Jumping on the mid-month post train just in time before the end-month posts start; here's my introduction :)

Hello, I'm Leonore - I'm live in Germany and I'm currently 25 years old. I just finished my Master's degree in Computer Science and am now starting working full time at university to eventually get my PhD. Until last year, I used to live with my grandparents, but in October my boyfriend of almost five years (Felix) and I moved in together. We still visit them a few times a week, though :)

I started crafting at a rather young age - I think I was about five or six when me grandma taught me how to crochet, and maybe seven when I taught myself cross stitch. I also started working with beads a bit later, mostly weaving bracelets and doing this cute little animals with thread and/or wire. So I always did some kind of crafts, but I only got into it really heavyly about a year and a half ago. These days I do mostly cross stitch, where I started building a fair stash, but I also picked up knitting (tried to learn that several times, but it seems that this time it actually sticks with me) and I got a sewing machine last year with which I need a bit more practice.

I like crafting in the evenings, usually while I'm watching movies or shows with Felix (we love crime shows, comedy, fantasy, a bit of science fiction, we're not really picky on that). I'm kind of working on perfecting the technique of listening and looking up in just the right moments to catch what's going on!

I'm also quite heavily into gaming (mostly console video games, but of PC too, and spread across most genres) and reading. I have an amazon kindle, which I adore, but I really prefer 'analog' books - the look and smell and feel of them!

So I think that's me, mostly. Feel free to ask any other questions you still have, I'm looking forward to spending this year stitching with you!


  1. Nice to meet you Leonore. I enjoy reading your blog.


  2. Great intro. You're so much like me! I have a Nook, but do prefer the feel of a real live book in my hands. We watch many of the same shows and I also try (but mostly fail) at stitching and watching them at the same time. Lol. Haven't been gaming in quite some time, but did love it too. :-)

  3. Same with me I have a Kindle. But I can't deny the ease of pulling out a little tablet versus a giant book especially since when I'm reading I tend to drop whatever I'm reading on my face lol.

  4. So nice to know more about you, Leonore :-) I like to do my crafting in the evenings, too. And I have a Kindle but still love my old regular books.

  5. Welcome to the group, can't wait to see what you're stitching in 2015.