Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Introduction - Elaine

Greetings!  I'm Elaine, 50-something, and I've been stitching for at least 20 years.  Not many finishes, and in the past I've gone 2-3 years without even picking up a needle, but I'm back at it.  I tend to prefer large designs, which is one reason I don't finish much.

I live in the Seattle area of Washington state (USA).  I'm a born and raised Washingtonian and can't imagine living anywhere else (except maybe the Oregon Coast).  I work as a project director for a Contract Research Organization - we do data management and statistical support for clinical trials.  I work mainly in cardiology, neurology and ophthalmology.  I'd love to retire soon, but that's not in the cards financially.

I've been married for almost 36 years to my high school sweetheart.  We have three children (aged 33, 30 and 29).  The 33 year old has a 12 year old daughter and the 30 year old lives with us, along with her boyfriend and their 5 month old son. The baby of the family is the security manager at a local casino. I also spend time every day with my 85 year old mother, who lives near us in a senior living facility.

In addition to cross-stitch, I scrapbook, knit, read, and follow Seattle Mariners baseball avidly.  

Enough about me - enjoying reading about everyone else!


  1. Loved reading more about you! I too tend to gravitate toward the larger pieces. They're just so detailed and fun!!

  2. Sounds like you keep busy! Would love to visit that area, photos are always so beautiful.

  3. Nice to know more about you, Elaine :-)

  4. Nice to meet you, Elaine! Big designs are both a blessing and a curse, aren't they?

  5. Hi Elaine I'm a big reader too. That's why my stitching is so slow lately ;)